Van Boening Crushes World 10-Ball Championships

Predator 10-Ball Championships / Jacksonville, FL
by Rick Davis
After the 96-player field of the Predator World 10-Ball Championships shrunk to a mere 16 billiards players, the field was shuffled into a new single-elimination board where those who remained continued to battle for the title and payout.
Taking into account matches won, then games won, and finally games lost, the top 16 took shape with recent 9-Ball Championships winner Dennis Orcollo at the number-one seed. Orcollo eliminated the number-one-ranked Japanese player, Naruki Oi, 11-8, then slipped past Atlanta’s Steve Moore 11-5 to face Shane Van Boening in the top four. The other final pairing included Cliff Joyner, who iced Danny Harriman 11-4 and Manual Gama double-hill, and Alex Pagulayan, who survived a stacked lower half of the board, knocking out Johnny “The Scorpion” Archer 11-7 and Francisco Bustamante in another double-hill showdown.
After Van Boening and Orcollo had met just a week previously in the finals with a complete whitewashing by Orcollo it was clear Van Boening was out for redemption. With an 11-9 score he achieved that soon enough and earned a spot in the finals, where he faced Joyner thanks to yet another double-hill win, this time over Pagulayan. With only one match remaining Van Boening wasted no time defeating Joyner 13-11, and after the dust settled he was declared the Predator 10-Ball Championship champion.
1st Shane Van Boening
2nd Cliff Joyner
3rd Dennis Orcollo
Alex Pagulayan
5th Steve Moore
Warren Kiamco
Manual Gama
Francisco Bustamante