Fisher and Dechaine Ultimate 10-Ball Champions
Ultimate 10-Ball Championships / Frisco, TX

by InsidePOOL Staff

The three-day Ultimate 10-Ball Championships have ended, with Allison Fisher and Mike Dechaine crowned the new champions in their respective divisions. Fisher came through a 54-player ladies’ field to best Kelly Fisher in the finals, while Dechaine bested Jeremy Jones in the 93-player men’s field.

In the women’s hot seat match, there was no contest. Allison Fisher blew past Angelina Paglia to a 5-1 lead and only allowed her opponent one more game before winning 7-2.

Darren Appleton left the stage after another brutal match, this time against Charlie Williams. The players split the first two racks, but after that it was all Williams, who capitalized on every mistake made by Appleton. When Williams was up 5-1, Appleton was at the table but scratched and conceded the remaining four balls. He received a warning, as it is against the rules to concede racks, and they kept playing. Williams reached the hill in the next game, and when he fouled in the next rack on a jump shot, Appleton took a point, but when Appleton scratched on the break in the next, Williams cleared the table to win 8-2. Mike Dechaine made quick work of Jeremy Sossei in the other match 8-4.

mike dechaine ultimate 10 ball Fisher and Dechaine Ultimate 10 Ball Champions

The three-day Ultimate 10-Ball Championships have ended, with Fisher and Dechaine crowned the new champions in their respective divisions.

In a slow-moving hot seat match between Jeremy Jones and Jason Klatt, the score seesawed to 7-6 in Jones’ favor. A defensive battle over the 1 ball ended with Jones playing a rather weak safe that led to a double-hill match. Another safety bout on the 2 ball in the final rack gave way when Jones saw an opening and took it, running out to win 8-7.

View the Ultimate 10-Ball Men’s tournament brackets (updated continuously)

View the Ultimate 10-Ball Women’s tournament brackets (updated continuously)

Paglia continued to struggle in the women’s semifinals, as Kelly Fisher was primed and ready to earn a rematch with A. Fisher, who had bested her hill-hill in the winners’ side final four. K. Fisher surged ahead and only allowed Paglia two games to her credit before winning 8-2.

Dechaine continued on his rampage in the quarterfinals, facing off against Williams and shooting into the lead. Reaching the hill 7-3, Dechaine took his turn at the table when Williams came up dry on his break. It turned into a defensive maneuver, with numerous innings traded before Williams fouled, giving his opponent ball in hand. “The Fireball” blazed through the last rack and advanced to the semifinals 8-3.

The men’s semifinals and the women’s finals, both races to 10, started and ended at the exact same time. Dechaine held an early lead, but Klatt drew within a game at 3-2; meanwhile, the Fishers’ score was knotted at 2 each. Fisher was struggling with her game and missing uncharacteristic shots, while Dechaine and Klatt were into defensive maneuvering in their match. Klatt took the lead for the first time in the match at 5-4, while A. Fisher missed the 10 ball at 3 apiece and K. Fisher took the lead 4-3.

It was about this time that the referees introduced the shot clock to both matches. Klatt got another step closer when Dechaine fouled and he got ball in hand, but “The Fireball” won the next two racks after a foul by Klatt to make it 6-all. Meanwhile, K. Fisher had inched ahead to 7-4. A. Fisher dug deep and settled in to win the next three racks. A break and run by A. Fisher put her in the lead 8-7 with two to go. K. Fisher fouled Read more ...