Derby City One-Pocket Event Begins as Banks Continue
Derby City Classic / Elizabeth, IN

by InsidePOOL Staff

The Derby City Classic’s one-pocket division began the morning of January 23, with a total of 317 players invested. The one-pocket event, which is bookended by the 9-ball banks and the 9-ball tournaments, has a $15,000-added prize purse with an estimated $52,500 total purse.

darren appleton derby city classic Derby City One Pocket Event Begins as Banks Continue

Appleton upset one-pocket champion Owen in the first round, surprising many with his one-hole prowess.

InsidePOOL’s 2010 Player of the Year, Darren Appleton, upset one-pocket champion Gabe Owen in the first round, surprising many with his one-hole prowess. Karen Corr, who was knocked out of the banks competition yesterday, won her first-round match against Ohio’s Chris Szuter, while 2009 one-pocket champ John Schmidt survived his first match against Floyd Oneal. Other likely suspects who won the first-round matches include Shannon Daulton over Doc Rutter, Mika Immonen over Arron Wolfrey, and Warren Kiamco over Harold Klein.

In the short-rack banks event, which kicked off the mammoth event January 21, began with a field of 386 but started Round 5 with 72 players left. The prize fund for this event is a $10,000-added purse.

View Derby City Classic match results (continuous)

View Derby City Classic upcoming match schedules (continuous)

Only 16 undefeated players will head into Round 6. Alex “The Lion” Pagulayan recently ousted Richie Richeson, Sylver Ochoa dealt Stevie Moore his first loss, Jeremy Jones eliminated David Naiser, Truman Hogue won over Steve Hancock, Brandon Shuff ousted Niels Feijen, Jeff Beckley sent Grady Mathews home, and Dee Adkins defeated Doug Pulliam.

The banks finals are scheduled for January 24 at 9:00 p.m. Visit InsidePOOL for the latest news in the sport of billiards and pool.

Read more ...